Key Aboriginal Contacts


For information about formally Recognised Traditional Owners visit Aboriginal Victoria’s interactive map and search the Local Government Area name [e.g. LGA: Ballarat] or a street address. You can also refer to Aboriginal Victoria’s Welcomes and Acknowledgements Protocol.

Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung Cultural Heritage Aboriginal Corporation

Level 1, Providence Building, Abbotsford Convent
1 St Heliers Street, Abbotsford
Phone: (03) 9416 2905
E: reception@wurundjeri.com.au

Victorian Aboriginal Community Services Association Limited (VACSAL)
51 High St, Northcote VIC 3070
(03) 9416 4266
E: reception@vacsal.org.au

Elizabeth Morgan House Aborignal Women’s Service Inc.
P.O. Box 167 Fairfield, Vic 3078
Ph: (03) 9482 5744

Local Aboriginal Network (LAN) Broker | Northern Metro Inner East 
Cathy Austin | 03 8392 5334 | cathy.austin@dpc.vic.gov.au

Renaming the Federal Electoral Division of Batman

In the spirit of reconciliation, Darebin Council has made a joint submission to Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) to rename the Federal Electoral Division of Batman on behalf of the Wurundjeri Tribe Land and Compensation Cultural Heritage Council Corporation (Wurundjeri Council), together with the City of Yarra. The joint submission proposes that the electorate of Batman be renamed Simon Wonga. Simon Wonga was an inspiring and visionary Indigenous leader and Ngurungaeta (‘head-man’) of the Wurundjeri people in the early to mid-1800s at a time when their future was uncertain. Darebin Mayor, Cr Kim Le Cerf, says that the “name change will acknowledge the Wurundjeri people of the Kulin nation as the first inhabitants and traditional owners of this area”. Find out more here.

Key Documents / Link


Darebin Stolen Gen marker 2

Stolen Generations Marker, Darebin Council Office, unveiled Sorry Day 2015

Good Practice

The City of Darebin reported the following good practices in their response to the 2012 Victorian Local Government Aboriginal Engagement and Reconciliation Survey and subsequent updates.

  • Flies both flags permanently above the Town Hall
  • Engages with Traditional Owners
  • Acknowledges Country
  • Arranges Welcome to Country
  • Uses Aboriginal language to name projects or places
  • Provides local government candidate information to Aboriginal people
  • Has an Aboriginal Advisory Committee or similar structure
  • Engages with local Aboriginal organisations
  • Engages with Local Indigenous Networks
  • Employs Aboriginal staff
  • Collects data on employee Aboriginal identity
  • Employs a full time Aboriginal Contact Officer
  • Has a general Employment policy that encourages employment of Aboriginal people
  • Provides cross cultural awareness training to staff and/or Councillors
  • Includes Aboriginal specific commitments in Council strategic documents
  • Has an Aboriginal engagement/consultation policy
  • Has an Aboriginal Action Plan or similar
  • Provides Aboriginl specific funding
  • Provides support for Aboriginal arts and culture through a range of program areas
  • Has a documented Aboriginal history of the municipality
  • Has a place naming project which will include consideration of Aboriginal language to name sites
  • Supports or organises events that celebrate Aboriginal culture
  • Has worked with a RAP to protect local significant sites
  • Has worked with a RAP to build greater community awareness
  • Library has Aboriginal specific programs
  • Provides Aboriginal-specific HACC services
  • Provides Aboriginal specific maternal and child health responses
  • Provides Aboriginal specific childcare programs
  • Runs Aboriginal specific youth programs
  • Works with local agencies to support Aboriginal young people
  • Supports local Aboriginal economic development
  • Is involved in local Aboriginal tourism


Reg Blow plaque – Darebin Parklands Spiritual Healing Trail

Spiritual Healing Trail Darebin Parklands Brochure

Last Updated: January 24, 2020 at 2:43 pm



Darebin map


274 Gower Street, PRESTON 3072
PO Box 91, PRESTON 3072
Tel: 03 8470 8888
Fax: 03 8470 8877
e: mailbox@darebin.vic.gov.au



Stuart McFarlane
PO Box 91, PRESTON 3072
Tel: 03 8470 8366 / 0427 797 668
e: Stuart.McFarlane@darebin.vic.gov.au


Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookPin on PinterestGoogle+Email to someoneShare on LinkedIn